Emma Watson’s Book List

Harry Potter fan or not, we all know the highly educated, Goodwill Ambassador for Women, Emma Watson, is very much of a book lover.

For all those looking for a book recommendation/s, of course, you would love to know what Ms. Watson would suggest you read!

I compiled all the book recommendations of Emma Watson, from over a few years ago, up to 2016! So you won’t have to go on many different sites that only states a couple on her book list. This is your one stop Emma Watson Book List!

Just yesterday, Emma posted on her twitter account, asking for names she can use for her feminist book club. And just now, she announced the first book that she will launch in her book club, Our Shared Shelf , entitled My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem.

image

Emma Watson's Goodreads

Now, without further ado, let’s get to what you all came here for, Emma Watson’s Book Recommendations!

• The BFG •

image

By Roald Dahl, is Emma’s favorite book, as she mentioned in Time Magazine, because it takes her back to her childhood.

“I like books that aren’t just lovely but that have memories in themselves. Just like playing a song, picking up a book again that has memories can take you back to another place or another time.”

– Emma Watson

• Le Petit Prince •
By Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

image

image

• Just Kids •
Patti Smith’s memoir

image

image

“I want to live like Patti. I want to write like Patti. The book was so honest and brave, I love the way she sees the world. I really felt that life was more beautiful after I read it, and I felt more hopeful.”

– Emma Watson on Vogue in 2011

“I have had Patti Smith’s Just Kids on my bedside forever.”

– Emma Watson in an interview with Savoir Flair in 2012

• The Fault In Our Stars •
Emma stayed up in the wee hours of the morning to read this book by John Green.

image

image

• A Thousand Splendid Suns •
By Khaled Hosseini, a book approved by human rights activist Malala Yousafzai

image

image

• The Queen Of The Tearling •
Erika Johansen’s debut novel, which the film rights is now owned by Warner Bros., Emma said she’ll be executive producing it and star in the film adaptaion of this book.

image

“I had kind of said I would never do a franchise again, so I was desperate to hate it. Unfortunately, I didn’t sleep for about a week because I couldn’t put the bloody thing down. It would be fair to say I became obsessed with the role and the book. Now I am executive producing it. Ha!”

– Emma Watson to Wonderland

Twilight •
Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight series was a guilty pleasure. We all have guilty pleasures, and that’s Emma’s when it comes to books.

image

“This is so sad, but I literally felt depressed when I finished reading them because I thought, ‘Oh my God, what am I going to do now?'”

– Emma Watson

• The Fountainhead •
By Ayn Rand. Emma Watson on MarieClaire:

image

“I know, it’s a cult. I’m not going to take it too far, but I did enjoy it.”

– Emma Watson

• Love Letter’s to the Dead •
Ava Dellaira’s debut novel follows a story of a teengirl writing to dead celebrities.

image

image

• The Opposite of Loneliness •
By Marina Keegan

image

image

• The Remains of the Day •
By Kazuo Ishiguro

image

“When I was growing up, my family, particularly my father, were very stoic. Part of me is very resentful of this British mentality that it’s not good to express feelings of any kind – that it’s not proper or brave.

– Emma Watson on Harper’s Bazaar UK, 2011

Torch
By Cheryl Strayed

image

• Tiny Beautiful Things •
By Cheryl Strayed

image

• Wild •
By Cheryl Strayed

image

“It’s been less than 3 weeks and I have devoured Torch, Tiny Beautiful Things and Wild. Thank you @RWitherspoon @CherylStrayed x”

– Emma Watson (@EmWatson) January 3, 2015

• Catch-22 •
By Joseph Heller

image

“I had a list of 10 books I was going to read this summer and I’ve read just one, Tracey Emin’s Catch-22”

– Emma Watson on Women’s Weekly

That’s the 15 book recommendations by our favorite witch, Hermione Granger! Oh, I mean.. Emma Watson! (I got confused because they’re both bookworms! Lol)

It’s not in order on which she loves most.

Emma Watson’s favorite book is arguably either The BFG, Le Petit Prince, and Just Kids.

Seeing her interview in Marie Claire magazine, she said her favourite book is Just Kids by

image

Arguably, what she stated in Time magazine, is that her favorite books are The BFG by Roald Dahl and Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Expuréry.

image

For the present time, I believe her interview in Time magazine was more latest than the one she did in Marie Claire. So The BFG and Le Petit Prince must be her present favorites. (Or it might be that she must’ve forgotten Just Kids because, again, maybe, she didn’t read it very recently.) But anyway, it’s not much important, or is it? You decide!

Sources:
The Leaky Cauldron
Marie Claire
Hello Giggles
Emma Watson’s twitter
Google

TO GOD BE THE GLORY!

Leave a Reply

